Receiving Personal Revelation

“Revelation signifies the making known of divine truth by communication from the heavens…

~James Talmage, an apostle

“Saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little; and blessed are those who hearken unto my precepts, and lend an ear unto my counsel, for they shall learn wisdom; for unto him that receiveth I will give more.” 

~Nephi, a prophet–quoting the Lord

“But behold, I say unto you that you must study it out in your mind, then you must ask me if it be right, and if it is right I will cause that your bosom shall burn within you; therefore, you shall feel that it is right.”

~Doctrine & Covenants, scripture

“No man can receive the Holy Ghost without receiving revelations.  The Holy Ghost is a revelator.”

~Joseph Smith, a prophet

“We believe all that God has revealed, all that He does now reveal, and we believe that He will yet reveal many great and important things pertaining to the Kingdom of God.”

~The Articles of Faith

“If I do not know the will of my Father, and what he requires of me in a certain transaction, if I ask him to give me wisdom concerning any requirement in life or in regard to my own course, or that of my friends, or that of my family, my children, or those that I preside over, and get no answer from him, and then do the very best that my judgment will teach me, he is bound to own and honor that transaction, and he will do so to all intents and purposes.”

~Brigham Young, a prophet

“And whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name, which is right, believing that ye shall receive, behold it shall be given unto you.”

~Jesus Christ

“It is not the design of heaven that we be rescued from all difficult situations.  Rather, it is the Lord’s will that we learn to handle them.”

~Joseph F. McConkie, Emeritus Professor of Ancient Scripture

Leave a Reply

